A Matter of Days

by Amber Kizer

eBook

1 of 1 copy available

Read a sample Read a sample

"Gripping and poignant, A Matter of Days takes readers on a heart-stopping journey of love and survival." -- New York Times bestselling author Carrie Jones

Their new reality begins in just a matter of days.

On Day 56 of the Blustar Pandemic, sixteen-year-old Nadia's mother dies, leaving Nadia to fend for herself and her younger brother, Rabbit. Both have been immunized against the virus, but they can't be protected from what comes next. Their father taught them to "be the cockroach"--to adapt to and survive whatever comes their way. And that's their mission.

Facing a lawless world of destruction and deprivation, Nadia and Rabbit drive from Seattle to their grandfather's compound in West Virginia. The illness, fatigue, and hunger they endure along the way will all be worth it once they reach the compound.

Unless no one is waiting for them . . .


"Fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave, S. D. Crockett's After the Snow, or Cormac McCarthy's adult novel The Road will find this a satisfying read." --SLJ

"An exciting apocalyptic road trip." --Publishers Weekly



From the Trade Paperback edition.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: June 11, 2013

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780375898259
  • Release date: June 11, 2013

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780375898259
  • File size: 2242 KB
  • Release date: June 11, 2013


Loading

1 of 1 copy available

Available formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS: 4.3
Lexile Score: 640
Interest Level: 9-12(UG)
Text Difficulty: 3

"Gripping and poignant, A Matter of Days takes readers on a heart-stopping journey of love and survival." -- New York Times bestselling author Carrie Jones

Their new reality begins in just a matter of days.

On Day 56 of the Blustar Pandemic, sixteen-year-old Nadia's mother dies, leaving Nadia to fend for herself and her younger brother, Rabbit. Both have been immunized against the virus, but they can't be protected from what comes next. Their father taught them to "be the cockroach"--to adapt to and survive whatever comes their way. And that's their mission.

Facing a lawless world of destruction and deprivation, Nadia and Rabbit drive from Seattle to their grandfather's compound in West Virginia. The illness, fatigue, and hunger they endure along the way will all be worth it once they reach the compound.

Unless no one is waiting for them . . .


"Fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave, S. D. Crockett's After the Snow, or Cormac McCarthy's adult novel The Road will find this a satisfying read." --SLJ

"An exciting apocalyptic road trip." --Publishers Weekly



From the Trade Paperback edition.

Expand title description text